Inactivating medications

Inactivating medications

Inactivate medications

  1. Open the meds tab on a patient chart.
  2. Highlight the medication from the active list of meds.
  3. Click ‘inactive’


  1. The medication moves from the active list to the inactive list.

Making notes on an inactive medication

  1. Highlight the medication.
  2. Click append additional notes.
  3. Type in notes into the text box.
  4. Click ok.

*Note, once additional notes have been appended, they cannot be edited again.


Auto-inactivating medications

Setup > program setup > charting > prescriptions > select auto-inactivate prescriptions.

Once the medication duration and dosage fields calculate the medication as being completed, it will automatically inactivate the medication.

*Note only short-term medications would inactivate automatically.


Deleting medications

Medications can be deleted within the first 48hrs if they were incorrectly added to a chart.

  1. Open the meds tab.
  2. Highlight the active medication.
  3. Click delete.


  1. A message will appear asking if you want to delete the dosage details.  Click YES.
  2. Click delete again.
  3. A message will appear asking if you want to delete the whole medication record.  Click YES

If it is passed the 48hr mark, deleting the medication is not an option. Inactivate the medication and append additional notes, shown above.